poplahotel.blogg.se

Park city utah-man shot 5 times survives
Park city utah-man shot 5 times survives












park city utah-man shot 5 times survives
  1. #Park city utah man shot 5 times survives driver
  2. #Park city utah man shot 5 times survives full
  3. #Park city utah man shot 5 times survives windows

The cause of death was likely Young’s return fire. Five years later, the shooter’s remains were discovered in a cave near the Colorado River.

park city utah-man shot 5 times survives

"It's a miracle in itself that my heart could handle that, and I definitely give credit to being fit and a lot of help from above."Īs for Arellano, an unsuccessful manhunt ensued immediately after the attack. He even has one near his heart, which he has to get checked out every six months. Another is in his spine if it migrates, doctors are worried that Young could lose his mobility. One is in the lower left lobe of his lung. There are bullets and shrapnel scattered throughout his body, many of which are too dangerous to remove. There's a lot more to life."īut he still has reminders of all that he's been through. "I could have chosen to take a worker's comp check for the rest of my life and lived on the couch, but it just wasn't in me. "Some think I'm crazy for going back," says Young.

#Park city utah man shot 5 times survives full

He’s since resumed his full duties as a full-time Utah State Park Ranger.Īre Your Abs Strong Enough For This Weeks Workout? “If I don't stay active, then I revert back to walking like an old man," he said. He says consistent stretching and exercising, including running three to four times a week and mountain biking, allowed him to stay mobile. "It was so fatiguing and I just hadn't built up my stamina." In addition to putting in hours at work, Young spent the next year in physical therapy. His first day back at Utah State Parks was February 28, 2011, where he worked for one hour and then went home to sleep for the rest of the day. Young was released from the hospital on Christmas Eve 2010, just six weeks after being shot. I don't smoke, I don't drink, and prior to this incident, about 8 or 9 months before, I had this real strong premonition to get consistent being physically fit," which primarily involved CrossFit and cardio. "But I healed pretty quickly and doctors said it was due to good health. Once he awoke, he’d lost a significant amount of muscle and coordination, and couldn’t stand. Young spent a month in the hospital in a coma. In all, Young had been shot a total of nine times: once in the upper left arm, three times in the back, once between the groin and femoral artery, once in his hip, once in his buttocks, once in the right femur, and once in his right arm below the elbow. Doctors say what kept Young from completely bleeding out was a blood clot that had formed in the pericardial sac of his heart, allowing some blood to stay in his body. The EMTs later told him that when they opened the door to the ambulance, blood flowed out like a waterfall. Young said they later told him that a man his size has approximately 160 ounces of blood, and he had lost a significant amount of that. The EMTs arrived and immediately began cutting off Young’s clothes and assessing the damage. “I just had to focus on one breath to the next,” says Young. As he lay dying, he recalled an article he read that explained how certain breathing techniques can slow down your vitals. "Thoughts of my family, seeing the faces of my wife and kids - I wanted to be with them again, which gave me the strength to begin to roll slowly towards my truck," says Young.Īfter what seemed like an eternity, Young reached the front door of his truck and radioed for help. Then everything began to fade to black-until something remarkable happened.

#Park city utah man shot 5 times survives windows

"I saw him through my windows and I started firing rounds at him." Arellano shouted, "You got me," then retreated.

#Park city utah man shot 5 times survives driver

I got up and I did what training taught me to do." He staggered to the back of the truck to find cover as the shooter hid behind the truck’s open driver side door. I think he ran out of bullets after he shot me nine times."Īt one point, Young said, he had a realization: “You can either lay down and die or get up and fight. "I went to the ground, and at that point the man was coming up on me and literally standing over me and just shooting me one round after the other. Three more rounds hit Young in the back, one of which went through his bullet-resistant vest. "My arm went lifeless and I turned and I just could see muzzle flash and him coming at me," he says. Young, who is left-handed, took a bullet in his left arm. Young started walking back to his truck to run the fake name and call for backup when suddenly, gunshots cut through the desert. His real name, Young later discovered, was Lance Arellano. “Michael Oher,” said the man, using the name of the NFL player who shot to fame after his life inspired the film The Blind Side. Young knocked on the window and asked for the man's name. He approached the vehicle and found a man sleeping in the backseat. Utah State Park Ranger Brody Young, 34, had just begun an overtime shift when he came across a lone car parked near Poison Spider Mesa Trailhead in Moab, Utah.














Park city utah-man shot 5 times survives